Home B-Folders Projectlot Support News Affiliate   About
Ditch the To-Do list. Manage clearly defined Projects, Actions, Contexts and Areas with Projectlot

Maintenance

Backing up a database

To backup the database that is currently open, use the  Back up database command. The backup file location will be displayed in a dialog box. Backup files are encrypted with the current password.

IMPORTANT: To restore a backup, you will need the password that was used when the backup file was created.

Desktop edition

Select File > Back up database menu item.

Android edition

Select Settings > Backup > Back up database.

The default backup destination is backup.dat folder which is accessible from a computer over a USB connection or from other apps on the device.

IMPORTANT: On most Android devices, backup.dat folder is on the internal storage of the device. Resetting the device will delete the internal storage and backup.dat folder.

NOTE: On some devices, the path to the backup files created in backup.dat folder,  may contain sdcard element. This does not mean the backup files are created on the physical SD card, if the device has one. On most devices a virtual SD card is emulated in a partition of the internal storage for backward compatibility with early versions of Android.

The backup destination can be configured by selecting Settings > Backup > Backup destination. If the device has a physical/removable SD card and  you want to backup on it, select Custom folder path and touch Browse, SD Card and OK.

It is a good practice to regularly

  • sync your data with other device
  • back up the database on at least one device
  • keep backup files (.jrb) on external/removable storage devices like SD cards, USB drives or network storage devices

Restoring a backup

To restore a backup use the Restore a backup command. The backup file you select will be restored in the current database location overwriting/deleting any pre-existing database.

IMPORTANT: To restore a backup, you will need the password that was used when the backup file was created.

Desktop edition

Select File > Restore a backup menu item.

Android edition

When the database is locked, you can restore a backup by selecting Menu > Restore a backup. When the database is unlocked, you can select Settings > Backup > Restore a backup.

Changing the password

To change the password that is used to unlock the current database use the Change password command.

IMPORTANT: Retain all old passwords (and the dates they were utilized) in case you have backups created with them.

Desktop edition

Select File > Change password menu item.

Android edition

Select Settings > Change password.

Deleting a database

When you need to create a new database in place of the current one or the current database is no longer needed, you must delete the current database using the Delete database command.

Desktop edition

Select File > Delete database menu item.

Android edition

When the database is unlocked, select Settings > Delete database and when the database is locked select Menu > Delete database.